Muddy Mayhem: Zouch Cut in the Loughborough Canal Pairs

This Sunday’s 3rd round of the Loughborough Canal Winter Pairs presented a whole new set of challenges. Our section, Zouch Cut, had enjoyed good results, but heavy rain transformed the canal into a murky mess. To top it off, rising water levels forced adjustments, with the Bishops section relocated to Swingbridge lower numbers thanks to the incredible efforts of the Loughborough Soar Team.

Drawing Duties & End Peg Dilemmas:

While Chris usually draws our pegs, I took the reigns this time for Zouch Cut. Ending up on C, an end peg with mixed reviews, I knew it could be tricky, especially since it had seen action earlier in the week. My partner Chris landed peg 7, and Antony on peg A shared similar concerns.

Keeping it Simple in Murky Waters:

My approach focused on simplicity, figuring out the fish in front of me. Bread lines on the near side, pinkie-over-soil and choppy long towards the reeds, with a spare area across, were my initial setup. Starting with the worm line for a potential bonus fish, I landed… a daddy ruff! Not ideal, but I persisted, later introducing a pinkie and chopped worm mix on that line for later possibilities.

Ticking Over with Bread and Pinkie:

The bread lines offered steady action, though nothing massive. Switching to pinkie produced slightly bigger roach, but still small. Meanwhile, Antony caught a few small perch, making me hope for similar luck. Mid-match, maggot and pinkie on the long line brought a better roach, but the perch remained elusive.

Bonus Battles & Sectional Standings:

Word had it that Steve Brooke was bagging roach on peg 1, likely winning the section. Despite searching for perch, I ended up with mostly small roach and skimmers, securing 1lb 8oz, half a bonus fish behind Antony’s 2lb 3oz. My partner Chris, however, saved the day, placing second in his section with 1lb 13oz!

Final Thoughts & Next Round Anticipation:

Zouch didn’t fish as expected, but that’s the unpredictable nature of fishing. Huge congratulations to Brian Hull for his 21lb off Swingbridge and thanks to the Loughborough team and The Kings Head Sutton Bonington for their support. The final round, with Chris and me back on Swingbridge, promises another exciting chapter in the competition!

Tight lines

Scott

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑